Frequently asked questions

General

To ensure an optimal viewing experience on any device and in varying network conditions, our servers transcode the uploaded, recorded or - in the case of livestreaming - broadcasted video to multiple qualities. The video player will then choose the best possible quality, taking into account available bandwidth and processing power available to the device used for watching.

This technology is often referred to as adaptive streaming, because the video quality adapts to the individual conditions of the viewer. Viewers don't need to do anything for this to work, it just happens automatically.

By default, every plan includes 250 GB of traffic (= bandwidth), but what does this mean in terms of actual views?

If your video is two minutes long and is delivered in SD quality (480p or lower), 250 GB of traffic corresponds to about 15.000 views.

If the 2 minute video is delivered as HD quality (720p), it corresponds to 10.000 views.

If your video is only one minute long, you get twice as many views.

However, in real life not all viewers watch a video from beginning to end. This means that the total number of views corresponding to 250 GB of traffic can turn out be much higher.

Plans & pricing

Regardless of your contract, we try to support you in the best possible way.

By default, our enterprise plans come with priority support and a maximum intervention time of 1 business day. All other plans come with support on a best effort basis and no intervention time guarantees.

All standard support contracts are limited to business hours (9-18 CET). If you require support outside business hours, very brief intervention times or dedicated remote hands during livestreams, contact us for a customized Service Level Agreement.

Bandwidth can be confusing when it comes to video hosting. It’s difficult to anticipate how much you’ll need, and how much it might end up costing you.

We've set our bandwidth limits so high, that most Clevercast users will never need to worry about it. In fact, 99% of our customers don’t even come close.

If you do end up needing more than our standard limit, we’ll send you a friendly email giving you the heads up that you’re close, and may be charged for extra bandwidth. You can always check on the bandwidth usage and pricing in your account overview.

If you already know you’re different than 99% of Clevercast users, and think you're in the top 1% of bandwidth usage, get in touch with our team and we'll be happy to put together a custom plan just for you.

By default, our plans include 50 GB of personal storage space on our CDN. This corresponds to 50 hours of video in case of SD resolutions or 25 hours in case of HD resolutions.

If you plan to produce very lengthy videos or keep an extensive archive, contact us and we'll put together a custom plan that fits your needs.

When you upload a new on-demand video, it is first transcoded into multiple resolutions for adaptive viewing (see 'Why do I need multiple qualities of the same video?'). The amount of new video you can upload each month therefore depends on the hours of adaptive transcoding that are part of your plan.

By default, our plans include 5 hours of adaptive transcoding to two SD (Standard Definition) qualities: 360p and 480p. If you also want to add HD quality (= 720p) the number of hours will be halved, as HD encoding takes longer and is more CPU intensive.

Transcoding to 1080p and higher is also possible, but requires an enterprise contract.

When you broadcast a live video, it is transcoded in realtime into multiple resolutions for adaptive viewing (see 'Why do I need multiple qualities of the same video?'). The amount of video you can broadcast each month therefore depends on the hours of realtime adaptive transcoding that are part of your plan.

By default, our plans include 5 hours of realtime adaptive transcoding to two SD (Standard Definition) qualities: 360p and 480p. If you also want to add HD quality (= 720p) the number of hours will be halved, as HD encoding takes longer and is more CPU intensive.

Realtime transcoding to 1080p and higher is also possible, but requires an enterprise contract.

Billing

All listed prices assume annual billing. With annual billing, you pay ahead for the next 12 months. If there is overuse at the end of any given month, it will be charged at the end of that month. To avoid overuse charges, you can always upgrade to a higher plan or add extra resources to your plan in the course of your contract, after which we will send you a bill making up for the difference.

Alternatively you can request a monthly contract or payment cycle, which will result in 15% surcharge on all listed prices. In this case, you'll get an invoice at the end of each month. Any overuse is added to the bill. Again, if you want to avoid overuse charges, you can permanently upgrade your plan until the last day of the month.

Finally, our enterprise plans also allow for campaign contracts. In this case overuse is only calculated once, at the end of the campaign period which spans multiple months. You'll only get a single invoice, at the end of the period (including overuse charges, if any). Due to the nature of this contract, prices for CDN resources (bandwidth, storage, transcoding) will also be higher.

Except for campaign contracts, overuse is calculated and billed at the end of each month. We'll inform you by email when your monthly limit for one or more resources has been reached, giving you the opportunity to upgrade your account and thus avoid overuse charges.

In some rare cases you may be better off to pay for overuse, rather than to upgrade your contract. For example, temporary marketing campaigns or a yearly corporate event may result in higher bandwidth consumption or more video transcoding hours than included in your monthly plan, but only for a short period of time.

Both yearly and monthly contracts should be cancelled before the last day of the contract period, otherwise they will be automatically renewed.

When a cancelled contract is finished, all media files, metadata and analytics will automatically be deleted. In case of an automatic renewal, they remain untouched.

Still wondering? Drop us a line.